View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:39 am Post subject: make a maptile that keeps a pre-defined hero stuned |
|
|
I would like to make an mapitle that keeps you stunned. Does somene know if there is a way to do that ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Explain what you want to happen exactly. What do you mean by "keeping a hero stunned"? _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 9:12 am Post subject: want I mean exactly |
|
|
Ok! Here is what I would like to do. One my of heroes have been stunned during a battle (or poisonned) and they are still stunned (or poisonned ) when the battle ends. But as the battle ends stunn (and poison) effects stop.
I would like to end with this. If one my heroe have been poisonned, I want him to be poisonned untill I give him an antidote. (same for beeing stunned)
Is there a way to do that ?
As always thanks very much for the help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cube Dimensional Traveller

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 294
|
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No ; ; Status abnormalities don't carry over after a battle is finished. The only way you could do what you want to do is write your own battle system and status abnormalities with plotscripting and program it to carry over. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jack the fool

Joined: 30 Jul 2004 Posts: 773
|
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 4:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well you could go and bother james a whole lot... but i'm sure he would greatly dislike that.
i always wondered about this topic myself but never actually took the time to go and find out for myself. _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 1:51 am Post subject: create my own battle system |
|
|
I don't want to different to the battle to be very different. I would like to try to write my own battle system. Could somoene help me with status abnormalities ?
Thanks for the help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gizmog1 Don't Lurk In The Bushes!

Joined: 05 Mar 2003 Posts: 2257 Location: Lurking In The Bushes!
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
A custom battle system would probably be a bit beyond your skill. There's a sort of complex work around, but it wouldn't stun the right person. It'd just randomly stun a party member, and it'd take a lot of plotscripting and understanding of the battle system to get it do even that. I'd just advice skipping it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
phyrfox Avid Player
Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Posts: 96 Location: New York, USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sounds like I need to add an optional "permission" for that, then. So... when I get around to implementing battles, authors will be able to have this effect enabled. Note that older engines won't carry it over, but I'll upgrade the version number for the games that enable any "gameplay changing features." Any other suggestions?
~= phyrfox =~ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
When people talk about "custom battle engines," they mean via plotscripting. I'm not sure how you'd do one in an engine without extensive scripting. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
LeRoy_Leo Project manager Class S Minstrel

Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 2683 Location: The dead-center of your brain!
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
In battle and out of battle are two entirely different dimentions, man.
"How do I make a maptile to keep a predefined hero stunned?"
Pre define it? Set a hero as an integer, or something.
If you want a specific TILE to affect the heroes, try this. When a hero steps on the tile, make it suspend player control for a short time. Suspend player, wait, resume player. How long it suspends or "stuns" is entirely up to you. I think 60 ticks is one second... But I am not sure. Guys?
Code: |
begin
Suspend player
wait(Xticks)
Resume player
end |
_________________ Planning Project Blood Summons, an MMORPG which will incinerate all of the others with it's sheer brilliance...
---msw188 ---
"Seriously James, you keep rolling out the awesome like gingerbread men on a horror-movie assembly line. " |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mystic
Joined: 26 Feb 2005 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Actually, I think its somewhere around 10 ticks a second... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Raekuul Delicious!

Joined: 31 Mar 2004 Posts: 641 Location: Nowhere
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
As the great James Paige has said numerous times before:
It depends on the computer.
(There... one more post and I'll... have another post?) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:31 am Post subject: make a specific attack that affects heroes out of battle |
|
|
I don't want a specific maptile to affect the hero, what I need is 2 specific attacks one is called "stun" and the other one is called "poison" and they would affect my players out of battle such as an harm.
May be with tags
What do you guys think about that ?
The use of poison attack set tag poison on and if the tag poison is on the players make start and plotscript that make the maptile aviable to steel them life points as they are walking.
The problem is for stun. Because if my main hero is stunned no one will be able to walk. The player may think that the game has bugged ... expect if I make an maptile animation! What kind of maptile animation could show that the heroes are stunned ???
Every commands suggestions and pieces of advices are welcome!
Thanks in advance ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Leo The wizard of many faces...

Joined: 02 Nov 2004 Posts: 95 Location: Way far up north in Sweden...
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 2:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think it's possible to switch tags on/off inside battle... _________________ "A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
-Douglas Adams
Download Zander (Swedish)
or Zander (English) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:09 am Post subject: Can you see a way to see what I would like to do ? |
|
|
Thanks again Leo !
Can you see a way to do what I would like to do using another method? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|