 |
Castle Paradox
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 12:18 pm Post subject: Special WIP OHR |
|
|
http://ohr.finalfantasyq.com/index.php?section=13
If you download the 20050529 WIP build, you'll find that it contains a special feature, hot off the compiler: Strings!
draknight2 [a t] wmconnect [d o t] com (who may or may not be on this forum) finished his extensive set of string commands, and I added a few in for good measure. There's no docs for them yet, and no compiler support just yet (no "this is a string"), but they're still very cool.
Here's an excerpt from whatsnew.txt:
[tt]* Strings! Specifically:
* New commands: show string(string ID), clear string(string ID),
append ascii(string ID, ascii code), append number(string ID,
number), copy string(source string, dest string), concatenate
strings(source string, dest string), string length(string ID),
replace char(string ID, position, ascii), delete char(string ID,
position), ascii from string(string ID, position), string to
globals(string ID, starting global, length), globals to string(
string ID, starting global, length). BIG HUGE thanks to Yuriy
(Draknight2@wmconnect.com)
* More string commands: get hero name(string, hero), set hero name(
string, hero), get item name(string, item), get map name(string,
map), get attack name(string, attack), get global string(string,
global), thanks to Mike Caron
* ${S#} meta-string for text boxes.[/tt]
The commands are fairly self-explanitory, but here's some info that isn't:
~ There are 32 string buffers, numbered 0 to 31.
~ They start out empty ("")
~ The basic way to add to a string is with a series of add ascii() commands:
Code: | append ascii(2, asc:UM)
append ascii(2, asc:UI)
append ascii(2, asc:UK)
append ascii(2, asc:UE) |
~ I added some constants in to represent the uppercase letters (asc:U<letter>) until the compiler can do it for us, but you can use basic ASCII codes if you want (you'll have to for anything but the uppercase letters)
~ Custom *is* changed by these commands, but it's just a reminder that you can use ${S#} in text boxes, so it's not included in the archive
One thing that's missing is a way to have the user type in an arbitrary string, but that can be faked with rename hero() and get hero name().
If anyone has questions, I'll do my best to answer them. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ysoft_Entertainment VB Programmer

Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 810 Location: Wherever There is a good game.
|
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 7:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nice. And by the way, draknight2 is my user name in mother hamster.
I finished it all in couple of days, would have done it even earlier, except that I didn't get a chance to download the code, but now I got it, so no problem. _________________ Try my OHR exporter/importer.
OHRGFX
Striving to become better pixel artist then Fenrir Lunaris. Unfortunately the laziness gets in the way of my goals. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 8:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
These are all very lovely.
Do you anticipate permitting the modification of item and enemy strings, or is that not feasible for the OHR engine?
Do the "globals to string" commands put the numbers into the string, or the ASCII values associated with those numbers into the string? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 4:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Mr B wrote: | These are all very lovely.
Do you anticipate permitting the modification of item and enemy strings, or is that not feasible for the OHR engine? |
Oh, it's very feasible. I was just having problems with those, since they're strored directly in the RPG file, and read on-demand, and I couldn't get my code to change them to work just yet. But, they'll happen.
Mr B wrote: | Do the "globals to string" commands put the numbers into the string, or the ASCII values associated with those numbers into the string? |
The ASCII values. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ysoft_Entertainment VB Programmer

Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 810 Location: Wherever There is a good game.
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
once pkmnfreak does the enemy modification command, I will see if I can get the door editing command, since I think it is very possible.
and I supppose you can also do more than edit enemy's name, you can go as far as editing their entire stats with a single command. _________________ Try my OHR exporter/importer.
OHRGFX
Striving to become better pixel artist then Fenrir Lunaris. Unfortunately the laziness gets in the way of my goals. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JSH357

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 1705
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 5:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
These new features are cool and all, but when are we going to see something that actually improves standard OHR games? (ex. making the battles more customizable)
This isn't C++, it's an RPG maker. Strings are great, but I'd rather be able to change the exp and level up formulas any day. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rimudora Psychopath yandere Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 26 May 2005 Posts: 335
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | This isn't C++, it's an RPG maker. Strings are great, but I'd rather be able to change the exp and level up formulas any day. |
It's 622347 times easier to plotscript script a custom exp and level system than to script in strings (which by default requires a custom text system). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JSH357

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 1705
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I know it can be done, and I've done it myself before, but most OHR users aren't programmers/have little to no experience in that area. The strength of the program is in its ease-of-use in relation to building RPGs, so I think that variations should be implemented rather than telling the users to "plotscript their own system."
(And nobody--except possibly the programmers--cares how much easier it is to program. Besides, if it's so easy, why wasn't it done first?) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
The Wobbler

Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 2221
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 7:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Note from Castle Paradox Administration: | This content has been removed by the user. Contact the original author and link them to this post if you wish to view the original content. Only the author can remove the tags hiding this content. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|