View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 1:17 pm Post subject: Movement & Textbox Display |
|
|
Hey folks,
Is there any particularly elegant way to permit player-controlled hero movement while textboxes are being displayed?
I have a continuously-running "while" loop that displays textboxes. I want the hero to be able to move while textboxes are being displayed, because a lot of the action occurs whilst characters are talking.
I think that I could emulate this by suspending the heroes and having a script that moves the hero when certain keyboard keys are pressed, but this is an horrific and unelegant solution. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
-B |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That's really the only way to do it, B. You can't use the built-ins for that kind of thing. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AdrianX ..yeah.

Joined: 13 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Batangas City,Philippines
|
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
..if it's the npcs that you want to move while there are textboxes it's pretty easy;just don't use any "suspend npcs" in your script..but i bet you already know that
..if you're talking about the heros moving while there is a text box displayed,i guess all you can do is let the hero move before calling the text box; like:
walk hero(me,right,5)
show textbox (235)
that way,the player can see the hero move and almost at the same time,there is a text boxed displayed. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Um, you can put the walkheros after the showtextbox. He knows that much, anyway, he just doesn't want to have to deal with scripting his own walkscript. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 8:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I ended up making a decently simple movement script. Using "suspend player" gives me the willies, though.
What I am wanting to do is to allow the player to move the character while conversations are going on. In a manner of speaking, the conversations are the puzzles, and the player's actions cause the conversations to change. That's why I need the hero to be able to move in response to player actions while all of this is going on.
I wish there were a better way to do this, but it's good to know that I am on track. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, huh; I've forgotten that aspect of Chrono Trigger.
Hopefully this will be somewhere as impressive. It's for the Halloween contest, so you'll see it in some way, shape, or form within the month. At least, here's hoping! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|