View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
AutoT

Joined: 03 Feb 2007 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:12 am Post subject: Icons |
|
|
I read the faq thing about how to make icons for games. So now I have an icon for the game but I'm having trouble changing the icon from that RPG logo to my new icon. How can I do this? _________________ Carpe Diem |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh? *searches* You mean 'How do I make an icon for my game?' Well, that page is rather decieving, because you can't change the RPG icon - I don't know why that page exists.
The only way to change the icon, I believe, is to recompile game.exe with it. Even then, it doesn't seem to work under linux. There is some hope for the future - SDL supports setting the icon, but FB (default graphics backend) doesn't seem to. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
J.A.R.S. In umbram deo, ex nihilo...

Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 451 Location: Under the rainbow...
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
certain programs can import .ico files into an executable or other file (aka .rpg) most cost money though...  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Newbie_Power

Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 1762
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Your best bet is a hackish workaround, but it might actually be useful in a way.
Create a .txt file with this text:
Code: | @echo off
game.exe mygame.rpg
echo on |
Rename the .txt file to "myname.bat" without the quotes and make sure the .txt extension no longer exists (you may have to go into Folder Options in Windows Control Panel and select the option that lets you view file extensions)
Afterward, you can now give mygame.bat whatever icon to please.
This can also be 1% useful, because you can copy and paste new versions of game.exe into your folder without having to rename game.exe itself. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
J.A.R.S. In umbram deo, ex nihilo...

Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 451 Location: Under the rainbow...
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
optionally, you can also make a exe with the same things using the shell command... .bat tend to look dos-ish, normally, .pif are better but... a .exe just looks better I think. I'm surprised no one made some sort of pre-game.exe shell reading the directory for an rpg file to run... *adds to to-do list* |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why use a batch file?
A windows shortcut accomplishes the same thing, and is easier. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Newbie_Power

Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 1762
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My l33t DOS skillz completely forgot about the lame Windows shortcut. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
J.A.R.S. In umbram deo, ex nihilo...

Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 451 Location: Under the rainbow...
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
these are .pif no? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
J.A.R.S. wrote: | these are .pif no? |
If it points to the old DOS version of game.exe it will be a pif. if it points to the new windows version of game.exe, it will be a .lnk |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
J.A.R.S. In umbram deo, ex nihilo...

Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 451 Location: Under the rainbow...
|
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ah yes, I had forgotten the .pif were automatically generated when using dated dos programs... forgot about the .lnk. I seem to have forgotten one could use the .lnk to add the dos parameters (rpg file name). Can you truly do that with windows XP too? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|