 |
Castle Paradox
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
G-Wreck OHRRPGCE Game Designer

Joined: 28 Feb 2010 Posts: 32 Location: Oklahoma
|
Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the advice
I tired-out your suggestions and managed to create a script that will set tags both on and off depending on the level of the stat. So now it will prevent you from selecting certain difficult responses if, say, you're 'diseased' and no one wants to be around you (I apologize to anyone who is actually diseased).
Setting it as an each-step script was a much smarter idea also.
The only two drawbacks were:
1. You (obviously) had to take a step after a change in the stat for the tags to be reset, and
2.I could not for the life of me get the script to read the first hero in the caterpillar rank. It only reads the hero in slot '0.'
I guess the best news, though, is that I've tested and retested setting the 'ignore extra hits' bitset on for hero attacks, and it does in fact create a new 'extra stat' for OHR designers to use.
Here's the change in code, just reset the numbers for the tags/stat levels you want to use and copy it as necessary:
Code: | if (get hero stat (0,stat:persuade) >= 10)
then (set tag (45,on))
if (get hero stat (0,stat:persuade) << 10)
then (set tag (45,off)) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
To fix the first problem, it depends on how/where you modify the persuasion stat. If you modify it with scripts, then you can just call the tag update script after doing so. If it increases with level ups, then you'd want to set it as the after-battle script on each map. If it can be increased by using stat-changing items, then you'd need to call after every time the player uses the items menu, which can be done in a few ways.
To first the second: the correct way to get the battle party position (required by "get hero stat") of the leader is "find hero(hero by rank(0))". Bythe way, you can use a variable like this:
Code: | plotscript, persuade, begin
variable (value)
value := get hero stat (find hero(hero by rank(0)), stat:persuade)
if (value >= 10) then (set tag (45,on))
if (value << 10) then (set tag (45,off))
...
end |
_________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|