View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Machu Righter, a person who rights wrongs

Joined: 09 Jul 2003 Posts: 737
|
Posted: Mon May 10, 2004 1:59 pm Post subject: NPCs on top |
|
|
Yes, the thread title is a sick joke.
Seriously now, how can I place an NPC so it shows up in front of a hero? Is that possible? _________________
Code: | [*]That's it
[*]I'm done reasoning with you
[*]Starting now, there's going to be a lot less conversation and a lot more killing |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MultiColoredWizard Come back, baby! The Breastmaster

Joined: 01 Feb 2003 Posts: 1232
|
Posted: Mon May 10, 2004 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I believe you can increase its z.
You can also make the hero the.. last NPC listed, i believe. I forget how it goes. I believe the lower an NPC is(in its number), the more NPCs that cover it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Uncommon His legend will never die

Joined: 10 Mar 2003 Posts: 2503
|
Posted: Mon May 10, 2004 6:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There is no npc z command. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Mon May 10, 2004 7:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please refer to this post, from the helpme board:
Quote: | The rules...
Posted by Mad Cacti on 4/19/2004, 4:17 am, in reply to "NPC overlay question?"
218.101.80.239
I quizzed James about this once...
You can't change the overlay, but you can determine which npcs are drawn over which with this method:
Heros ALWAYS appear on top of npcs.
Npc instances have a reference number in the range -1 to -200.
Npc's with a lower reference are drawn on top of other npcs, unless they are step on. (Ie, -200 is drawn over -10)
When you place npcs in the editor, the first one you place is number -1, and each after that gets the highest available (Ie, -1, -2, -3, -4, etc).
When you create npcs with the 'create npc' plotscripting command, the created npc is given the lowest available reference (-200, -199, etc)
Therefore, npcs created with scripts will appear over placed ones, and the first you create will appear over everything else.
The reference numbers are negative because postives are npc id numbers, so commands that take both can tell them apart.
So, if you want to have a npc drawn over a hero, you need to temporarly replace the hero with an npc and use the rules above.
--Previous Message--
: While "Suspend Obtruction" is activated, how
: would I control the overlay of NPC's, and heros? The
: script calls for the npc moving over top of the hero,
: but when tested the npc is positioned underneath the
: hero, so how would I go about making the npc overlay
: the hero graphics? Thanks.
:
Everything you said was correct except the bit about step-on NPC's step-on activation has no effect on drawing order. Only reference number matters for the order that NPC's are drawn.
This is the order in which things are drawn:
NPCs reference -1 to -200
Hero's 0 to 3
No exceptions.
(also, when an NPC is being used as a vehicle, nothing changes. it is still draw the same way.)
|
EDIT: Uhhh... it wasn't clear that that was James' reply. The last bit is what James says. I removed the bit where I talk about stepon npcs, because it was wrong. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Machu Righter, a person who rights wrongs

Joined: 09 Jul 2003 Posts: 737
|
Posted: Tue May 11, 2004 5:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm... is that so? Well, I think I've found a good work-around:
The game uses the num-pad and I wanted an interface to pop up every turn. Of course, you can't see the "stay" command, and it's obviously cluttered. So, I'm going to change it to this:
The only problem here is to make sure the abbreviations are clear (like will "C" mean "crouch" or "crawl"?)
EDIT: I got an idea just now, and just to see how it looks:
Maybe the icons would make it more stylish? _________________
Code: | [*]That's it
[*]I'm done reasoning with you
[*]Starting now, there's going to be a lot less conversation and a lot more killing |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
junahu Custom Title: 45 character limit

Joined: 13 Jan 2004 Posts: 369 Location: Hull, England
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 3:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Couldn't you have just made a walkabout with the stay command written over it and alternate between that and the normal walkabout with change hero picture() ? Those icons are cool, but they're hardly self explanitory. _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MultiColoredWizard Come back, baby! The Breastmaster

Joined: 01 Feb 2003 Posts: 1232
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 1:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Use arrows, they look better. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I think arrows/ meaningful pictures would do better. I can't figure out what on earth those icons are meant to mean.
Why don't you either leave stay blank, or draw a circle or cross around/behind him ? _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Setu_Firestorm Music Composer

Joined: 26 Mar 2003 Posts: 2566 Location: Holiday. FL
|
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 11:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
In order to place an NPC on top of another one, the only way I know how to do it is by placing them in the same spot over one another. As far as plotscripting goes, I don't think it can be pulled off.
(((Inner Setu: Just watch someone prove me wrong.))) _________________
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/georgerpowell
Newgrounds: http://setu-firestorm.newgrounds.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MultiColoredWizard Come back, baby! The Breastmaster

Joined: 01 Feb 2003 Posts: 1232
|
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Read the thread before you post next time. You completely missed the point. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 2:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well Setu, if you read my post I said that one npc is drawn over another based on npc references. Making it work the way you want can be pulled off with manipulation of 'create npc'. (Proved you wrong : P)
But yeah, we started talking about Machu's game in here. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Machu Righter, a person who rights wrongs

Joined: 09 Jul 2003 Posts: 737
|
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it's not super important anymore, I just needed a work-around. In case you're curious, I'm adding a few more movement options (like sliding), and after some planning and calculations, it turns out I'll need 7 lines of frames for each character! And that doesn't include doing them all holding a different gun and all the possible death frames. Oh, and I'm job-searching, too. I've got plenty to do. _________________
Code: | [*]That's it
[*]I'm done reasoning with you
[*]Starting now, there's going to be a lot less conversation and a lot more killing |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Uncommon His legend will never die

Joined: 10 Mar 2003 Posts: 2503
|
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 3:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You could always make the guns seperate npcs, unless you can't spare any. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|