View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:13 am Post subject: How long a stat booster spell is active ? |
|
|
I am using an stat booster spell in my game and I would like to know :
1) How long is it effective ? I mean : What are the sub menus of the attack menu that can tell me that ?
2) Is there a way to make the effect of the attack longer or shorter ?
3) If there is no way to make it shorter or longer is there a way to make the attack effective WHEN the boss attacks ?
Thank you very much in advance for the help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RedMaverickZero Three pointed, red disaster! Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 12 Jul 2003 Posts: 1459
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, from what I can tell, depending on how powerful you make your spell determines how much it does. However, in a battle, it lasts throughout the duration of it. Outside of battle, I am sure it is not permanent. But there are scripts you can use to make it permanent outside of battle. But like I said, after a battle, the effect is over. _________________ ---------------Projects----
Mr.Triangle's Maze: 70%
Takoyaki Surprise: 70% |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Setu_Firestorm Music Composer

Joined: 26 Mar 2003 Posts: 2566 Location: Holiday. FL
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
I remember on my old-school cheesey Metroid remake, I tried to make items that boost your stats ingame, and if I remember right, the effects only lasted until you used something else.
What I mean is, I tried to use plotscripting to make the energy capsules expand your max HP, and it did work, as I had the value of your Max HP shown on the bottom via the "show value" command. Pretty much, the effect worked until you used an item that filled your current HP.
So, in other words, I think that James didn't really look too far into that sort of thing in CUSTOM's programming. I could be wrong, though; maybe he did. That's really a question best asked to James himself. _________________
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/georgerpowell
Newgrounds: http://setu-firestorm.newgrounds.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 10:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm not sure what you mean, setu. IT sounds like a bug - game should never reset the max values of stats, only alters them according to level ups and equipment.
Are you sure you were targetting max and not current?
Either way, this is unrelated to the question...
I'm afraid you have only 2 options:
-Keep the stat increase for the whole battle
-Have the stat increase only for some amount of time, but the character can not do anything in the mean time. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Razor_Blade
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
hmmm, that second option has some potential, like some kind of shielding, for a more futuristic setting, like using an energy shield or something...meh, just an idea. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 3:33 am Post subject: increase the stat for a whole turn -> here is what I need |
|
|
Here what I need! I would like the stat increased for a WHOLE turn and the player cannot attack. The stat in question is defense. Could somoene help me to do that ?
What bitsets and options shouid be active (or unactive) ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 3:37 am Post subject: Oups sorry! |
|
|
Sorry for posting an useless message!
I would like the 2nd solution: having the stat increased only for some amount of time, but the character can not do anything in the mean time.
As I've previously keyed in the stat in question is defense.
Could somoene help me and make me a little guideline ?
As always thanks very much in advance for the help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, that's easy to do! As someone suggested, you make an attack that ups the defense, and then chain it to one that lowers defense by the same amount. Make the second attack have a relatively large delay, so that there's a "pause" between when his defense goes up, and when it goes down. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 2:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
To be specific:
The first attack should 'cure instead of harm' and 'increase stat past maximum'. To should target self, never miss, and target stat defense. Then increase defense (you wil problably use '100' as 'Base ATK stat' and then change the 'Extra Damage%').
Now chain this with 100% chance to a second attack, which lowers the defense when the attack is over. This attack should target self, use defense as target stat, never miss, and set target stat to 100% of maximum. Now set 'Delay before Attack'. Try setting it to 100, and change it if that is not the right amount.
You probably do not want to show damage for the second attack, and maybe not for the first one. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:57 am Post subject: Ok but... |
|
|
All right. But if I make an 100% chain attack, how will my hero end his (or her) turn ?
I've already tried an 100% chain attack and the ennemi still managed to attack just before I do my attack (whatever it is for the 5th, the 6th, the 1rst time or not)
Could you give me you opinion about that ?
Thanks for answering! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SilentAngel The Angel of Silence

Joined: 16 Dec 2003 Posts: 122 Location: The comfiest chair in #CastleParadox
|
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
The delay between the two attacks prevents the hero from attacking. If there's a high delay
(the number of ticks) between the two spells, even if the chain-rate is at 100%, the hero
still can't attack, because he's waiting for the second spell to happen. After that second
spell has happened, the hero can attack again. If the delay is too much, like in your case
where the enemy is attacking you, set it to a lower number.
Hope that helped.
~SA _________________ Current Projects:
Hikari no Senshi - Inperiaru Taisen: ~10% Complete
http://www.castleparadox.com/forum/download.php?game=392
Stepmania Online Stats:
Next song to pass on Stepmania: Paranoia Survivor Max (Heavy)
Next song to pass on DDR: MaxX Unlimited(Standard)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do you mean "the enemy is attacking before the first attack" or "the enemy is attacking before the second attack"?
If it's the latter, the what silentangel said is 100% correct. But, if it's the former, you might want to set the delay for the first attack to be less, or even 0, so that it happens immediately.
As for the chain, it only loops if you chain the second attack to itself. It goes like this:
1st attack -> 100 tick delay (or similar) -> 2nd attack -> charge up for next turn... -> etc. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:12 am Post subject: I think I am very close to what I need |
|
|
All right I just need some more explanations
1)I am using use an '100' as 'Base ATK stat' and then how should I change the 'Extra Damage% ? 70% 120% ????
2)With the chain 100% option how do I make sure the hero only launch 2 attacks (the one called defense and the one called defense less) ?
3)Could somoene confirm me that when the stat defense is increase the effects are permanental like for a cure spell (unless of course the spell is linked to another attack that make the stat come back as it was before.)
Thanks everyone for the help! thanks to everyone help I am very closed to what I need! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
1) I don't follow.
2) To ensure that the hero only does two (2) attacks, you chain the first attack to the second, and DON'T chain the second attack to anything.
3) It is permanent until the end of the battle, or until something else makes it go down. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bis_senchi

Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Reims, France
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:41 am Post subject: Ok! |
|
|
That's ok!
I explain again the point number one of my last message because it's not very clear.
I just would like to know how I determine the strengh of my stat booster spell.
Thanks very much for answering so quickly! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|