Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

Rusalka!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> The Soapbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moogle1
Scourge of the Seas
Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner
Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner



Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 3377
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:06 pm    Post subject: Rusalka! Reply with quote

The new release of the OHRRPGCE is here! I'm posting for James, who's playing We <3 Katamari.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(Slime will be glad to know that I did manage to implement everything I said I would try to last night)

http://www.hamsterrepublic.com/ohrrpgce/

The changes:

Code:

WHAT IS NEW?

October 03 2005 [rusalka]

  * Bug-Fixes

    * Fixed bug 18: "In the map editor, CTRL+F doesn't use default
      passability" [Ralph Versteegen]

    * Fixed bug 76: "Hitting two keys at the same time allows you to
      overflow text-entry fields" [James Paige]

    * Fixed a bug that allowed argument values to pre-fill local
      variables in scripts that did not have enough arguments declared
      (It is now safe to assume that all your local variables will
      start out set to zero) [James Paige]

    * Fixed bug 81: "fight formation() with an invalid formation would
      start a battle which would immediately end" [Yuriy]

    * To bring up the Joystick calibration screen, you should now
      press CTRL+J rather than just J

    * Fixed bug 85: "menu called when exiting a script triggered menu or
      screen with ESC" [Yuriy and Ralph Versteegen]

    * Fixed bug 86: "Foot offset is not taken into account when culling
      npcs and heroes to draw onscreen" [Ralph Versteegen]

    * Fixed bug 88: "A script buffer overflow crashes or freezes game.exe
      instead of displaying an error message" [Ralph Versteegen]

    * "NPC is walking" now returns true when the NPC is walking and false
      if not walking. Used to be backwards. Old compiled scripts that
      depended on the backwards behaviour will still work as they did
      before, but you will have fixed them if you recompile them.
      [James Paige]

  * New Features

    * plotscripting commands to read system time: system hour, system
      minute, system second. [Mike Caron]

    * plotscripting commands to read system date: system day, system
      month, system year. [Yuriy]

    * plotscripting command to find out the currently playing song.
      [Mike Caron]

    * plotscripting command run script by ID which does just that
      [Ralph Versteegen]

    * status indicators (poison/stun) via characters appended to stats
      in battle [Yuriy]

    * "No reward for targets killed" bitset (useful for monsters "running
      away") [Yuriy]

    * Command to get the ASCII code of a key being pressed (last ascii())

    * importglobals behaviour extended: importglobals(slot,id) returns
      the value of a global without overwriting anything

    * Strings! Specifically:

      * New commands:
          show string(string ID)
          clear string(string ID)
          append ascii(string ID, ascii code)
          append number(string ID, number)
          copy string(dest string, source string)
          concatenate strings(dest string, source string)
          string length(string ID)
          replace char(string ID, position, ascii)
          delete char(string ID, position)
          ascii from string(string ID, position)
          string to globals(string ID, starting global, length)
          globals to string(string ID, starting global, length)
        [BIG HUGE thanks to Yuriy (Draknight2@wmconnect.com)]

      * New operators for strings:
          destid $= srcid  instead of  copy string(destid,srcid)
          destid $+ srcid  instead of  concatenate strings(destid,srcid)
        Please note that  id $+ "TESTING"  is NOT valid
        [Ralph Versteegen]

      * Commands to get useful strings:
          get hero name(string, hero)
          set hero name(string, hero)
          get item name(string, item)
          get map name(string, map)
          get attack name(string, attack)
          get global string(string, global)
          input string (string, use current)
        [Mike Caron]

      * Commands to display strings on the screen:
          show string at (string, x, y)
          center string at (string, x, y)
          hide string (string)
          string style (string, style)
          string color (string, color, background color)
          position string (string, x, y)
          string X (string)
          string Y (string)
        [James Paige]

       * ${S#} Meta String for textboxes

       * Support in HSpeak for "auto strings":

          $1="My string"

          That will set the string with ID 1 to "My string"

    *  get enemy name, set enemy name
       get enemy stat, set enemy stat
       get enemy appearance, set enemy appearance
       get enemy rewards, set enemy rewards
                [Mike Caron and Yuriy]

    *  Map limit increased from 100 to 32767 maps
       [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  Transparent tile and sprite pasting in all graphics editors.
       Copy a sprite normally, then paste it with Ctrl + T. Transparent
       (colour 0) areas will not get pasted [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  You can now use capslock + directional keys to move a tile around
       like you can in the sprite editor. In the tile editor however,
       pieces of the tile that go over the edge wrap around to the other
       side  [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  Place tiles without overwriting passability with the default by
       hitting Ctrl + D when tilemapping [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  Attack bitset to ignore attacking hero's/enemy's Extra Hits
       stat [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  Plotscript command alternpc has been considerably optimised. It
       no longer reloads all npcs and heros on the map [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  New plotscript commands: get map tileset, get ambient music,
       set ambient music, allow minimap, allow save anywhere, set map
       edge mode, get map edge mode, set harm tile damage, set harm tile
       flash, get foot offset, set foot offset, get instead of battle
       script, set instead of battle script, get each step script, set
       each step script, get on keypress script, set on keypress script,
       draw npcs above heroes, map width, map height [Ralph Versteegen]

    *  New general bitsets: skip title screen, skip load screen (which
       can be set or off in any combination), pause on all battle menus
       [Ralph Versteegen]

  * Stuff only Developers Will Notice

    * Plotscripting Dictionary Documentation is now in xml format instead
      of html (but still exportable to html) [Big thanks to Mike Caron]

    * Constants for the gen()/general() array data [James Paige]

    * Combined save- and load- menus to save memory (about 3.7kb) and
      make future changes easier [Ralph Versteegen]

_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."


Last edited by TMC on Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Wobbler




Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2221

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note from Castle Paradox Administration:
This content has been removed by the user. Contact the original author and link them to this post if you wish to view the original content. Only the author can remove the tags hiding this content.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Iblis
Ghost Cat




Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: Your brain

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is "Edit Menus?" It doesn't seem to do anything yet.
_________________
Locked
OHR Piano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ysoft_Entertainment
VB Programmer




Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 810
Location: Wherever There is a good game.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iblis wrote:
What is "Edit Menus?" It doesn't seem to do anything yet.


The developers never actually implemented that yet, but in the future release it will allow you to edit the game menus.

Also, thanks TMC for implementing the transperancy, and my request of moving tiles around.

All in all, this release has nice bunch of features.
_________________
Try my OHR exporter/importer.
OHRGFX
Striving to become better pixel artist then Fenrir Lunaris. Unfortunately the laziness gets in the way of my goals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Iblis
Ghost Cat




Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: Your brain

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Editting the menus is basically the best thing ever.

Will this allow for adding new menus as well, or just altering the existing ones?
_________________
Locked
OHR Piano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mike Caron
Technomancer




Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Why do you keep asking?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably add. We're (by this, I mean me) thinking that it would be like this:

The menu has X number of slots (haven't done the math to figure out how many we can fit). There are a number of predefined items that you can put in any slot as you see fit. Or, you can make a new one and hook up a plotscript to it.

Of course, I'm just making this up on the spot, since we haven't really been discussing this too much ("we should allow the peons to customize their menus" "yeah" "ooh, an unrelated feature!"), but I'm sure this is what the others are thinking.
_________________
I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.

Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:29 pm    Post subject: Edit Menus Reply with quote

Iblis wrote:
What is "Edit Menus?" It doesn't seem to do anything yet.


Oops! Dang it! I knew I was going to forget something :)
I meant to remove that from the menu before I uploaded. Since it doesn't work yet it shouldn't be there.

pkmnfrk wrote:
Probably add. We're (by this, I mean me) thinking that it would be like this:

The menu has X number of slots (haven't done the math to figure out how many we can fit). There are a number of predefined items that you can put in any slot as you see fit. Or, you can make a new one and hook up a plotscript to it.

Of course, I'm just making this up on the spot, since we haven't really been discussing this too much ("we should allow the peons to customize their menus" "yeah" "ooh, an unrelated feature!"), but I'm sure this is what the others are thinking.


Yes, that is pretty much exactly what it will be. A bunch of menu slots, which can contain the sort of things that are in the menu already, or text labels that trigger plotscripts, or that trigger text boxes.

Furthermore, items in the menu will be enableable/disableable with tags.

Menu zero will be the main menu, but you will be able to make other menus too, and to trigger them from text-boxes or plotscripts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:32 am    Post subject: Re: Edit Menus Reply with quote

James Paige wrote:

Oops! Dang it! I knew I was going to forget something Happy
I meant to remove that from the menu before I uploaded. Since it doesn't work yet it shouldn't be there.


I knew I was meant to remind you to do something! I was going to remind you to increase the stack, but it didn't crash for me (I didn't try multiple battles.)

As a random thought, do you think it will be possible to display a texbox as part of the menu? Then 3 option menus will finally be available.

(Also, you should be able to change the main menu with scripts)
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chris98




Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 114
Location: On Jupiter, My rubber Boobie, s45 h79

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice update, too bad the menus aren't customisable... I will make a game using all of the existing features, just to practice. Not sure what it'll do yet, but should be fun ^_____^
_________________
ANIME FREAK!!!!!! LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL DIS RO><ORS!!!
Come to http://firaga.conforums3.com for discussions about RPGs, old and new alike. We need members.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aethereal
SHUT UP.
Elite Designer
Elite Designer



Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 928
Location: Gone! I pop in on occasion though.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I decided to pop in quickly for this.

This is a great update. The breaking of the map limit is awesome, and strings are GREATLY welcome.

Can we get arrays in the next update? Please? Happy
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aethereal wrote:

This is a great update. The breaking of the map limit is awesome, and strings are GREATLY welcome.


Everything is so happy about the breaking of the map limit, but I heard of no one but Fyre actually run into it. Is everyone just glad that a theoretical limit has been removed? : )

Aethereal wrote:
Can we get arrays in the next update? Please? Happy


I've been meaning to and started on it nearly a year ago. I wonder what happened to my stuff? : o
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:54 am    Post subject: Re: Edit Menus Reply with quote

The Mad Cacti wrote:
I knew I was meant to remind you to do something! I was going to remind you to increase the stack, but it didn't crash for me (I didn't try multiple battles.)


That is because I remembered on my own to increase the stack size :)
With the old stack size, it was consistently crashing on exit after fighting two or more battles... It puzzles me that it did not crash on exit after just one battle. It makes me wonder if there is a meory leak (stack leak?) in battle, and two battles was just enough to push it over the limit.

I increased the stack-size from 2650 to 2700, an increase of 50... um... 50 of whatever units the stack is in :)

I am curious what happens after you fight 50 battles. Do you get a crash on exit? What about 100 battles?

As much as I would love to fight 100 battles in a single sitting... I probably need to spend my time more wizely :) Perhaps someone with some free time to spare can do this though. (actually, a mini-RPG designed specificly for a marathon of 100 battles might be pretty fun)

The Mad Cacti wrote:
As a random thought, do you think it will be possible to display a texbox as part of the menu? Then 3 option menus will finally be available.


I was thinking that meus would appear over whatever was already on the screen, including a text box. So a text box could trigger a menu instead of a choice box.

It would also be sensible to make the menus positionable on the screen, so that sane layouts would be possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mr B




Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is all very beautiful work. Thanks a bunch, guys!

I've got a scad of ideas, now. So much to be done...

Again, thanks for such beautiful work. I can't play with this until I'm done with the Halloween contest, but that's okay -- at least I can know that it's here, waiting for me.

Erm...*embarrassed cough* ... How soon until I can start jockeying for other features?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Caron
Technomancer




Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Why do you keep asking?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:01 am    Post subject: Re: Edit Menus Reply with quote

James Paige wrote:
The Mad Cacti wrote:
I knew I was meant to remind you to do something! I was going to remind you to increase the stack, but it didn't crash for me (I didn't try multiple battles.)


That is because I remembered on my own to increase the stack size Happy
With the old stack size, it was consistently crashing on exit after fighting two or more battles... It puzzles me that it did not crash on exit after just one battle. It makes me wonder if there is a meory leak (stack leak?) in battle, and two battles was just enough to push it over the limit.

I increased the stack-size from 2650 to 2700, an increase of 50... um... 50 of whatever units the stack is in Happy

I am curious what happens after you fight 50 battles. Do you get a crash on exit? What about 100 battles?

As much as I would love to fight 100 battles in a single sitting... I probably need to spend my time more wizely Happy Perhaps someone with some free time to spare can do this though. (actually, a mini-RPG designed specificly for a marathon of 100 battles might be pretty fun)


Well, you could always set the enemies to 0 HP, with no rewards, and have a plotscript loop you through 100 battles, so you wouldn't even have to do anything.

James Paige wrote:
The Mad Cacti wrote:
As a random thought, do you think it will be possible to display a texbox as part of the menu? Then 3 option menus will finally be available.


I was thinking that meus would appear over whatever was already on the screen, including a text box. So a text box could trigger a menu instead of a choice box.

It would also be sensible to make the menus positionable on the screen, so that sane layouts would be possible.


Would the menus appear over other menus?
_________________
I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.

Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> The Soapbox All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group