Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

..now that OHR is updated..

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AdrianX
..yeah.




Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Batangas City,Philippines

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:23 pm    Post subject: ..now that OHR is updated.. Reply with quote

..with reference to this thread:
http://castleparadox.com/ohr/viewtopic.php?t=3615
..now can i do it?can someone please tell me how?..thanks guys..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Mike Caron
Technomancer




Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Why do you keep asking?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you can.

Alas, I don't know any reasonably efficient ways to make the menu, so I'll tell you the second, now-possible, half of it.

Once you have the name from the menu, to set it is easy:

Code:

set hero name(string,hero)


"string" is the ID of the string it's in, and "hero" is the ID number of the hero in question.
_________________
I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.

Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
AdrianX
..yeah.




Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Batangas City,Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

..ok,thanks..now the only thing i need to know is how to get that string you were talking about.i mean,i know how to make it look like a cursor walking around the tiles with letters on it,i want to know how to make it so that when,for example,the player pressed space or enter on the letter "a",that character will be saved,then the next letter will be "d",then that letter will be added to the "a",until i got the name,for example "adrian"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Mike Caron
Technomancer




Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Why do you keep asking?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I suppose the best way would be:

1. Swap out the heros, and swap in the arrow.

2. Have this script:
Code:
script, do input letter, letter, myself, begin
  variable(lower) #is it uppercase?
  lower := npc y (myself), mod, 2 #this assumes that you put the lower case
                                  #letters on odd rows
 
  #this script also assumes that you're putting the name in $1
 
  lower *= 33 # if it's lower case, we add 33. Otherwise we add 0.
 
  addascii(1,lower + letter)
end


(I will explain in a momment)

3. Make an NPC for each letter (that's 26). The NPC graphics should have the upper and lower case forms in it. Set the script to "do input letter", and the parameter to the Uppercase Ascii code (that's 65 for A, 66 for B, etc.). Oh, and make them "not face you" (whatever the option is, I forget)

4. Finally, lay down your NPCs in rows, with upper case letters in even numbered rows, and lower case letters in odd rows. Make sure you place them so that they face the right way to show the Upper or Lower case letter.

5. In a map on-load script (or similar), put these lines:

Code:

clear string (1) #again, assuming it's $1
center string at(1,x,y) #replace X and Y with... where ever


6. You should also put an "OK" NPC with a script that goes back to the game, and a "BKSP" NPC that erases the last character (delete char(1, string length(1)))

I may prepare a demo sometime, in case this is confusing.
_________________
I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.

Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
AdrianX
..yeah.




Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Batangas City,Philippines

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

..thank you!i'll try this one,but still i think you should make a demo too,just in case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Mike Caron
Technomancer




Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Why do you keep asking?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I'll make it shortly.
_________________
I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.

Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP! All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group