Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

Start Menu

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blacklight_Studios
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:38 pm    Post subject: Start Menu Reply with quote

Now that i've got the opening plotscript done... More help is needed. Oookay...

What I'm trying to do is make a "Start Menu" of sorts, where you have the "new game" option do the obvious, and the "continue" option open the load screen. another obvious detail is that I want the "continue" to be unusable until a .sav file is present. Would the best way to do that be through scripting, or can i do all that in Custom.exe? if it's through scripting, what commands will i need to know to pull it off?
Back to top
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use a tag to enable the load menu, and use the following script to set the tag:

Code:
plotscript, start menu, begin
  variable (i)
  for (i, 1, 4) do (
    if (save slot used (i)) then (set tag (tag: allow loading, on))
  )
  open menu (menu: start menu)
end

_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blacklight_Studios
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, so you set variable i as any save slot in this script? k, so that'll take care of the continue, but what about the new game? Do I link that option to start the game?
Back to top
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The for loop loops over the values i := 1 to i := 4

Attach your real new game/introduction script to the "New game" menu option, and set 'start menu' as the new game script in Custom. Alternatively, if you have no introduction script, I guess you could have the "New game" option close the menu, doing nothing :)
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blacklight_Studios
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I have it figured out. Thanks for the help.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP! All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group