Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

NPC Overhead-ness Modification

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mr B




Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am    Post subject: NPC Overhead-ness Modification Reply with quote

Hey folks,

Is there a plotscripting command that sets whether NPCs are drawn over or under the heroes? I have come across a couple of problems where it would be useful to change that property in-map, but I cannot find a reference to such a command in the Plotscripting Dictionary.

Thanks,
-B
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Caron
Technomancer




Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 889
Location: Why do you keep asking?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not yet. However, Rusalka (which is edging ever so closer to being released) will have such a command, thanks to TMC.
_________________
I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.

Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mr B




Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Goodie.

I was hoping to use such a command for the one-week contest, but I can afford to wait.

Happy programming,
-B
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junahu
Custom Title: 45 character limit




Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 369
Location: Hull, England

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm. Difficult, but not impossible to emulate such a command. I'm only gonna go over a brief summery of how I think it could be done. I do not reccommend you try this, at all.



Create two maps of the one you want to change the npcs over heros option. Make sure the two maps are identical.
On the first map have it set to draw heroes over npcs
On the second map have it set to draw npcs over heroes

Now for the script;

The first part of the script needs to record the x and y coordinates, direction and ID number of every npc on the map. For this you'll need to set up a fake array. You also need to use npc count a lot. I'll leave the specifics up to whoever's reading this.

The second part is easy. The code reads;
if(current map == map:map1)
then, begin
teleport to map(map:map2, hero x(me), hero y (me))
end
else, begin
teleport to map(map:map1, hero x(me), hero y (me))
end

The last part of the script needs to read back through the fake array create the npcs that were on the other map and place them back where they were when the script first started running.



Of course, noone in their right mind would even attempt this.

Seriously though. Don't try this at home. Your brain may start to leak blood.
_________________


Last edited by junahu on Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
junahu
Custom Title: 45 character limit




Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 369
Location: Hull, England

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like moogle1 got there before me. Be sure to tell him how much he kicks ass ok?

http://castleparadox.com/ohr/viewtopic.php?t=3759
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mr B




Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a good idea, but won't the time it takes to move between maps result in noticable (and hence repugnant) pauses?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Pixel
SPY SAPPIN MAH FISH SANDWICH




Joined: 22 Apr 2005
Posts: 621

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your using it as a overlap tile, you could always have a tile of it then when you hit a npc it sets a tag to destroy the overlap npc.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP! All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group