View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am Post subject: NPC Overhead-ness Modification |
|
|
Hey folks,
Is there a plotscripting command that sets whether NPCs are drawn over or under the heroes? I have come across a couple of problems where it would be useful to change that property in-map, but I cannot find a reference to such a command in the Plotscripting Dictionary.
Thanks,
-B |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Not yet. However, Rusalka (which is edging ever so closer to being released) will have such a command, thanks to TMC. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Goodie.
I was hoping to use such a command for the one-week contest, but I can afford to wait.
Happy programming,
-B |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
junahu Custom Title: 45 character limit

Joined: 13 Jan 2004 Posts: 369 Location: Hull, England
|
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmmm. Difficult, but not impossible to emulate such a command. I'm only gonna go over a brief summery of how I think it could be done. I do not reccommend you try this, at all.
Create two maps of the one you want to change the npcs over heros option. Make sure the two maps are identical.
On the first map have it set to draw heroes over npcs
On the second map have it set to draw npcs over heroes
Now for the script;
The first part of the script needs to record the x and y coordinates, direction and ID number of every npc on the map. For this you'll need to set up a fake array. You also need to use npc count a lot. I'll leave the specifics up to whoever's reading this.
The second part is easy. The code reads;
if(current map == map:map1)
then, begin
teleport to map(map:map2, hero x(me), hero y (me))
end
else, begin
teleport to map(map:map1, hero x(me), hero y (me))
end
The last part of the script needs to read back through the fake array create the npcs that were on the other map and place them back where they were when the script first started running.
Of course, noone in their right mind would even attempt this.
Seriously though. Don't try this at home. Your brain may start to leak blood. _________________

Last edited by junahu on Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:46 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
junahu Custom Title: 45 character limit

Joined: 13 Jan 2004 Posts: 369 Location: Hull, England
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's a good idea, but won't the time it takes to move between maps result in noticable (and hence repugnant) pauses? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Blue Pixel SPY SAPPIN MAH FISH SANDWICH

Joined: 22 Apr 2005 Posts: 621
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 1:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if your using it as a overlap tile, you could always have a tile of it then when you hit a npc it sets a tag to destroy the overlap npc. _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|