 |
Castle Paradox
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Squall is fantastic

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 758 Location: Nampa, Idaho
|
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:55 pm Post subject: OHR Update "rusalka" |
|
|
Earlier today, James released the new version of the OHR engine (with a great deal of help from 3rd party developers). Go to the official OHR site to download it and read more about it.
Notable new features include:
Map limit changed from 100 to 32767
Poison/Stun indicators
Tons of new plotscripting commands
-system hour, system minute, system second, system day, system month, system year, get enemy name, set enemy name, get enemy stat, set enemy stat, get enemy appearance, set enemy appearance, get enemy rewards, set enemy rewards, get map tileset, get ambient music, set ambient music, allow minimap, allow save anywhere, set map edge mode, get map edge mode, set harm tile damage, set harm tile flash, get foot offset, set foot offset, get instead of battle script, set instead of battle script, get each step script, set each step script, get on keypress script, set on keypress script, draw npcs above heroes, map width, map height, skip title screen, skip load screen, pause on all battle menus.
And tons of new stuff with strings.
This isn't all, either. Check out the main page to see everything, and discuss the features you feel are most useful or don't fully understand in this thread. _________________ You got film in my video game!
You got video game in my film! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sparoku Pyrithea Amethyst.

Joined: 02 Feb 2004 Posts: 467 Location: Washington State
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
I love you people!!! Hooray!!! _________________ "There will always be people who will tell you they hate what you made, or like what you made, and will tell you that what you did was wrong or right."
My Discord ID: SparDanger#0305 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
My thread was not good enough  _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, yes, YES! Beautiful!
I have a few questions:
Quote: | "No reward for targets killed" bitset (useful for monsters "running away") [Yuriy]" | What exactly does this mean? How is this not equivalant to just not giving an enemy any XP or GP in the rewards submenu?
Quote: | Commands to display strings on the screen:
show string at (string, x, y)
center string at (string, x, y)
hide string (string)
string style (string, style)
string color (string, color, background color)
position string (string, x, y)
string X (string)
string Y (string)
[James Paige] | Are these "x,y" coordinates in tiles or pixels?
Do the global strings work like global variables, where they are refered to by ID number? If so, I can't seem to find a "set global string" matching the "get global string."
This is all beautiful; I can't think of anything I wanted that we didn't get. Thanks for all the great work, James and developers! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
The no rewards bitset is an attack bitset; monsters targeted with that attack will not yield GP/XP/items. Useful for an "Exit" spell.
Strings are displayed by the onscreen pixel x/y (0-319,0-199), not to be confused with the map x/y. At least, that's what I understand from it. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Great; thanks!
Mr B wrote: | This is all beautiful; I can't think of anything I wanted that we didn't get. | Er...except modifying item stats and hero bitsets...which I just now remembered. But how can I complain? This is great stuff! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
There are no "global" strings. All strings are global, in the sense that they can be used anywhere. The whole ID thing is that HamsterSpeak doesn't directly support strings. Internally, they're stored in an array. But, when you write something like:
HSPEAK.exe translates it into"
Code: |
clear string(1)
add ascii(1,65)
add ascii(1,66)
add ascii(1,67)
|
That's why you cannot pass a string literal directly.
Also, there's a bit of a debate going on as to whether we're going to do more "lump modifying" commands, as modifying heros and items would require. The whole thing is that since lumps are not saved (and thus changes to them are lost when you quit, you have to mod it every time). _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
pkmnfrk wrote: | Also, there's a bit of a debate going on as to whether we're going to do more "lump modifying" commands, as modifying heros and items would require. The whole thing is that since lumps are not saved (and thus changes to them are lost when you quit, you have to mod it every time). | Oh, that doesn't bother me at all. In fact, I rather expected it. Saving changes would be a relatively simple issue of storing data in global variables, and we have an effective infinitude of them, now.
Mainly I want to be able to implement weapon upgrade systems. Heck, even just a sort of FFVI Ultima Weapon thing, that increases power when its equipper levels. Lots of gnarly uses. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mr B wrote: | Do the global strings work like global variables, where they are refered to by ID number? If so, I can't seem to find a "set global string" matching the "get global string." |
"get global string" was probably a poor naming choice.
What it does is read a caption from the "Edit Global Text Strings" menu in CUSTOM, and places it into a plotscripting string.
Mr B wrote: | Oh, that doesn't bother me at all. In fact, I rather expected it. Saving changes would be a relatively simple issue of storing data in global variables, and we have an effective infinitude of them, now. |
Are you refering to the increased number of global variables in the Battleless version? (which has not been updated yet) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr B
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 382
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, okay.
James Paige wrote: | Are you refering to the increased number of global variables in the Battleless version? (which has not been updated yet) |
I meant being able to look at and modify the global variables in other saves slots, and since we have a large number of "invisible" save slots who's (which's?) global variables can be planted and harvested at will... That's what I meant.[/quote] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JSH357

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 1705
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pause on All Battle Menus is the best new feature since target:stat. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cube Dimensional Traveller

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 294
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah. I think the Pause on all Battle menu is sorta from my suggestion of making the ATB fill instantly for the next action, and pausing while all menus are open. I wanted turn based battles for a game I'm making, and this is getting there for sure so I'm happy to see it in there.
There's a problem though. When a menu comes up for a character and you hit ALT or whatever other keys that let you switch to other characters, the ATB bar still continues to fill up while the menu isn't present.
So! Would it be possible to disable character switching as well? Then we'll have turn based battles, technically. And besides, in FF4 and FF5 you couldn't switch between characters even then
(I'm assuming the instantly calculated "next turns" is impossible then? Well, "possible", but not worth it maybe?)
Anyways, thanks for putting this in. This is literally one of the best OHR updates period in my opinion, heheh. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JSH357

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 1705
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Actually, I kind of like that 'glitch.' It lets you save a character's turn and slowly fill up the ATB. Kind of adds a strategic element to battles. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Squall is fantastic

Joined: 02 Feb 2003 Posts: 758 Location: Nampa, Idaho
|
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 5:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I wish I would have locked this topic in the first place, so we wouldn't have two parallel rusalka threads going on. For the sake of sanity, let's move all rusalka discussion to this thread. _________________ You got film in my video game!
You got video game in my film! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|