 |
Castle Paradox
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Obright Vestigial Organist

Joined: 16 Nov 2005 Posts: 70 Location: By the wayside
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:59 am Post subject: is there any way to do this? |
|
|
In my game, I just introduced a trade depot. Is there any way to make it so that it costs, say 10 spools of silk for 1 oil lamp? All I've been able to do is make it so that 1 silk is traded for 1 oil lamp, which eliminates a challenge in the game.
Can anyone help? _________________ 'I imagine that imagination is more important than knowledge, but I don't know.' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Could be done with plotscripting, but not with the current shop format, I'm pretty sure. It would take careful planning and coordinating between your script and textboxes. Having strings now will help. Are you interested in creating your trade depot in this way? I'm not near an internet connection enough to promise much help, though. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Obright Vestigial Organist

Joined: 16 Nov 2005 Posts: 70 Location: By the wayside
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
msw188 wrote: | Could be done with plotscripting, but not with the current shop format, I'm pretty sure. It would take careful planning and coordinating between your script and textboxes. Having strings now will help. Are you interested in creating your trade depot in this way? I'm not near an internet connection enough to promise much help, though. |
Sure! But I warn you...you may have to be extremely patient with me...
Fenrir gave me a very simple PS for switching the main hero from slot 2 to slot 1 a while ago...and I'm ashamed to admit that I'm STILL trying to get it to work. My forte' is design, whether character design, town design, or cartography...and my plotscripting sucks much anus...although it's actually getting better.
I tell you what...I know you've got limited internet time, but if you help me with this, I'll design something for you in exchange...although you probably don't need any help in that area
THAT GOES FOR EVERYONE IN THE OHR COMMUNITY! Make me a working plotscript, and I'll do some design work for you, and we'll just credit each other accordingly.
I REALLY want to be able to do everything myself, but I've spent a few too many hours pulling my brain out by the hair, working on even the simplest plotscript, and at the end of it all I have nothing to show for it except a bald (and empty) head. OH YEAH, and MUSIC! I'm pretty good with NOTATE.EXE, so the same goes if someone wants a song or two (I REFUSE to use midi2bam until the quantization works correctly). _________________ 'I imagine that imagination is more important than knowledge, but I don't know.' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:26 am Post subject: Re: is there any way to do this? |
|
|
Gnostic Kathar-sys wrote: | In my game, I just introduced a trade depot. Is there any way to make it so that it costs, say 10 spools of silk for 1 oil lamp? All I've been able to do is make it so that 1 silk is traded for 1 oil lamp, which eliminates a challenge in the game.
Can anyone help? |
Not yet. As we speak, TeeEmCee is (supposed to be) working on this very feature, multiple item trades. Until then, use plotscripting. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
I will do this for you if no one else jumps up first. Do you have AIM, IRC, or e-mail (in that order -- I mean, obviously you have e-mail, but AIM would be easiest)? _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I think I'll back out at this point, especially since Moogle1 is considered one of the better and more experienced plotscripters around here (I don't think I've done anything more complicated than a poker game). In any case, I wish you luck with your game. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Obright Vestigial Organist

Joined: 16 Nov 2005 Posts: 70 Location: By the wayside
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey Moogle!
Moogle1 wrote: | I will do this for you if no one else jumps up first. Do you have AIM, IRC, or e-mail (in that order -- I mean, obviously you have e-mail, but AIM would be easiest)? |
I've d-loaded the newest version of AIM 3 times, and every time it completes, I get the following message when I try to install it:
'AOL' wrote: | We encountered an error during the download process. Please try downloading again from http://www.aim.com. If you continue to experience difficulties, please go to http://www.aim.com and report a bug.
Error: -2301 |
...so I guess AOL is out I guess IRC is next, which I've never used, but I'll try it.
EDIT- ok, that's just the AIM installer, which actually downloads the program, not the actual program installer, so maybe their server is down? I'll try again after a bit.
So what type of graphics do you need?
PS- I'm playing your 'OHR trading card' game right now...anybody that can make a game like that on the OHR can almost certainly help me with the embarrassingly simple PS'ing projects I have right now...amazing...
and speaking of that...
msw188 wrote: | (I don't think I've done anything more complicated than a poker game). |
I can't fathom doing anything AS complicated as a poker game!
sorry to
EDIT- again, but I'm going to have to go offline for a while to use the phone...sigh, yes...I'm on a dialup modem...
I also just remembered that you (moogle) are responsible for OHR tactics...right? I rest my previously indicated case... _________________ 'I imagine that imagination is more important than knowledge, but I don't know.' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
The OHR TCG wasn't made in the OHR.
Besides, doing something like this is easy:
Code: | script, trade 10 silks for 1 lamp, begin
if(inventory(item:silk) >= 10) then, begin
delete item(item:silk, 10)
get item(item:lamp, 1)
return(true) #success
end, else (return(false)) #failure
end |
You can't call this from a shop, you must have some other npc who runs it. Best called from another script, so you can tell the player what's going on, and whether it worked. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
LeRoy_Leo Project manager Class S Minstrel

Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 2683 Location: The dead-center of your brain!
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think I might have an actuall script for something like this. Minnek made one for our 48 hour game (which was never released as of yet, FYI). [Edit] I think Moogle and Mike already helped you. Those scripts look just about like the ones I have. _________________ Planning Project Blood Summons, an MMORPG which will incinerate all of the others with it's sheer brilliance...
---msw188 ---
"Seriously James, you keep rolling out the awesome like gingerbread men on a horror-movie assembly line. "
Last edited by LeRoy_Leo on Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:55 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mike's script will work, but you will need some support around it (textboxes, NPCs). Let me know if you want his or if you'd prefer a more developed script. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Obright Vestigial Organist

Joined: 16 Nov 2005 Posts: 70 Location: By the wayside
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moogle1 wrote: | Mike's script will work, but you will need some support around it (textboxes, NPCs). Let me know if you want his or if you'd prefer a more developed script. |
I think I'll go with yours. I don't care if you made the OHR TCG on a food processor and a solar-powered calculator, you still made it, and so my original point is still valid.
Thanks for the help anyway, Mike!
Mike Caron wrote: | Besides, doing something like this is easy: |
I'm sure even quantum physics is easy to Stephen Hawking...  _________________ 'I imagine that imagination is more important than knowledge, but I don't know.' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Joe Man

Joined: 21 Jan 2004 Posts: 742 Location: S. Latitude 47°9', W. Longitude 123°43'
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it is. Sometimes. _________________ "Everyone has 200,000 bad drawings in them, the sooner you get them out the better."
~Charles Martin Jones
Last edited by Joe Man on Fri Dec 13, 1957 1:21 am; edited 2,892 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Obright Vestigial Organist

Joined: 16 Nov 2005 Posts: 70 Location: By the wayside
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Joe Man wrote: | Well, it is. Sometimes. |
even LOVE is easy, sometimes... _________________ 'I imagine that imagination is more important than knowledge, but I don't know.' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mike Caron Technomancer

Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 889 Location: Why do you keep asking?
|
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mike Caron wrote: | Best called from another script, so you can tell the player what's going on, and whether it worked. |
I usually leave the niggling details to the person who asked, since I can't be bothered to do all the work for them.
However, I'll make an exception, to prove that Moogle1 wasn't any help at all in this thread
Code: | script, npc that trades silks, begin
show textbox(1) #Hi, do you wanna trade 10 silks blah blah blah?
wait for text box
if(check tag(tag:textboxchoice)) then, begin #a generic textbox choice tag
if(trade 10 silks for 1 lamp) then, begin
show textbox(2) #Thanks!
end, else, begin
show textbox(3) #Oops, looks like you need more silk
end
end, else, begin
show text box(4) #Well, maybe later then
end
wait for text box
end |
It's just a bunch of text boxes. You would call this script from an NPC. He will then ask if you want to trade. Note that you need to make textboxes for it. Also note that you should change the textbox numbers in the script if they happen to be different. _________________ I stand corrected. No rivers ran blood today. At least, none that were caused by us.
Final Fantasy Q
OHR Developer BLOG
Official OHRRPGCE Wiki and FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|