 |
Castle Paradox
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
KainMinter *~*

Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Austin
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:15 pm Post subject: Palettes and the OHR |
|
|
I am not familiar at all with how the OHR handles importing outside palettes, so I have a few questions for you seasoned OHR vetrans.
-How does palette importing in the OHR generally work?
-Is there a file type creatable in Photoshop I can import directly into the OHR?
-I assume there is an import palette HamsterSpeak plot scripting command?
Any insight on this subject would be appreciated. :D |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Iblis Ghost Cat

Joined: 26 May 2003 Posts: 1233 Location: Your brain
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | How does palette importing in the OHR generally work? |
That's very vague, but I'll give it a shot.
Basically, you use Paledit or 2mas or some other program (they can be found on the OHR homepage somewhere) to make your own palette (.mas) file, and then you go into custom.exe and go down to Edit General Game Data where you can import a palette.
If you already have graphics drawn, this may mess them up. For example, if in the default palette color #40 is green, and in your new palette it is purple, everything that used that shade of green will now be purple. For this reason it's generally best to make a palette before you draw any graphics. If you import late, it's not difficult to get all the colors back to how you'd like them, but it can be time-consuming.
Paledit and 2mas work differently. Paledit uses a GUI editting system, you can change each color around and make gradients of color like there are on the default palette. 2mas is a command-line interface, and all you do for that is make a .pcx file of your palette and put it into the program (the included readme file has instructions for this), and it generates a palette for you. I've used both, and they work fine, except that my palettes made in 2mas can't be loaded into Paledit for some reason. There are also other programs used for this purpose I think, but I don't know how they work exactly.
Quote: | Is there a file type creatable in Photoshop I can import directly into the OHR? |
While I'm not 100% sure of all the filetypes photoshop can save, I would assume no.
Quote: | I assume there is an import palette HamsterSpeak plot scripting command? |
No. There are, however, several palette editting functions. You cannot just import a new palette file, to my knowledge, but you can change the palette using these functions:
write color (index, element, value)
index = the color slot on the palette, element = red (0), green (1), or blue (2), value = the new value for that color (0-63). So these lines of code:
write color (3, 0, 63)
write color (3, 1, 63)
write color (3, 2, 63)
Would make color #3 white.
tweak palette (red, green, blue, first, last)
Red, green, and blue = The amount to change each of those color values. Note that the former command sets the color (so a value of "5" sets that color value to 5), while this one increments color (so a value of "5" increases that color value by 5). You can use negatives to decrease. First and last = the first color slot changed and the last one changed. If you input 0 for first and 255 for last the changes would affect every color in the palette. So this line of code:
tweak palette (-20, -20, 20, 2, 10)
would make colors 2 to 10 less red, less green, and more blue.
Also two more important commands:
reset palette
update palette
Reset palette changes the palette back to the default (meaning the palette you imported in custom, not necessarily the default ohr palette), and update palette displays any changes you've made to the palette. You can tweak the palette and write color as much as you want, but if you want the changes to actually show up on the screen you have to use the update palette command.
The plotscripting dictionary has more information on all of these commands, if you're wondering anything more. _________________ Locked
OHR Piano |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
2mas can spit out a script to "import" a palette, too.
If you've come this far, you may find it's not worthwhile to change palettes. As Iblis noted, your colors will all be off unless you do it carefully. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Iblis Ghost Cat

Joined: 26 May 2003 Posts: 1233 Location: Your brain
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another thing to be aware of: the menus and text boxes and battle meters use fixed color slots. If you change the wrong colors your menus can end up looking crazy. But, you can also edit the colors purposefully and make the menus and such look better. So whether you want to or do not want to change the menu colors, here is a marked version of the OHR palette showing which slots are used by the engine:
So the 1st row, the 11th row minus the last slot, the last row, the 3rd column, and the 13th column all are used by the engine (there also might be more that I'm not aware of).
The first row is generally used for menu colors here and there (like that yellow near the right end, that's the yellow you see when selected text is flashing). The 11th row is used in battles, when you select an enemy it cycles through those. The last row, I don't think they're all used, but I know some are. I know for certain that the black and white are, and the grays in the 3rd and 13th columns. Those columns, by the way, are the text box colors. The 3rd column is the body of the text box and the 13th is the border (excluding the first row). They're also used for the "text boxes" in the menu. _________________ Locked
OHR Piano |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KainMinter *~*

Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Austin
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In this case my colors would not be off. My plan was to be import palettes that are in the exact same setup as the OHR's, only altered for different situations. Things I could if it were possible to swap palettes using plotscripting:
-Change the time from day, to sunset, to night, etc
-Alter certain color schemes for certain areas, for example change the blue gradient into a bluish green one for w/e reason.
-Create graphics in OHR's bright happy crayon box palette for easy color matching, then alter the palette to be a little less vibrant and a little more subtle.
If there is no way to swap palettes on the fly, I suppose using the tweak palette command could mimic some of the same results I was seeking.
Thanks for the advice guys. :) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Like I said, 2mas can do that! _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|