View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
shonjuku

Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Idaho, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:52 am Post subject: Is there a way of creating cooperating weapon effects? |
|
|
I'm thinking of creating a weapon for my game that if another item is equipped in another slot it boosts the stats of that weapon, but only if both are equipped. If both items aren't equipped (i.e. only one) the effect is null. Other than maybe some form of plotscript, I can't think of any way of accomplishing this. _________________ "Never sacrifice the thrills of living for the security of existence" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, you're going to have to use plotscripting. The script isn't too hard, but it's annoying to have to write it for something like this. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TwinHamster ♫ Furious souls, burn eternally! ♫

Joined: 07 Mar 2004 Posts: 1352
|
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Wait...Do you want a specific skill or something to be learned when both items are equipped at the same time, or are you trying to have a specific stat number that you want only when both are equipped.
If 1) Then, you'll definitely need plot scripting
If 2) Then, you could just assign your stats to the weapons (Say you want an attack of 20 only when both are equipped, sword=15, bracelet=5 or something) I doubt you're asking for this effect though.
Else) Sounds like you need scripting. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shonjuku

Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Idaho, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:11 pm Post subject: explanation |
|
|
It's like this... If you equip the weapon it's normal and nothing special. Take the weapon off and equip the "brecelet, ring, whatever" and it's normal and nothing special. Equip both and there is a massive stat boost to the character. This would require plotscripting right? _________________ "Never sacrifice the thrills of living for the security of existence" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, and I can't help but feel that this will mean a custom menu system. It will be quite difficult, I think, to use the OHR's equip menu for this, if you want the player to correctly see the effects of equipping or unequipping certain pieces of this kind of equipment. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shonjuku

Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Idaho, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:36 pm Post subject: Unfortunately |
|
|
I've never delved very far into plotscripting (went through the turtorial and read through the dictionary). So this would mean that I need help from other people on where I can go to get info on advanced subject matter on plotscripting. _________________ "Never sacrifice the thrills of living for the security of existence" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can check out the Moglery at the bottom of Moogle1's posts. I pretty much learned on my own before looking at those, so I can't say how helpful they are to a beginner. But you will need a good understanding of how the keypressing script functions work, how flow control works, and besides that a good feel for how things on screen match up with what you are trying to do with your script, if you want to script a custom menu (as I believe you will have to do to get the desired effect here). Have you done any programming in the past (ie, do you know what 'if' statements are, and 'for' loops, etc)?
PS: There is currently a push for the introduction of an 'Edit Menus' section for plotscriptless custom. I'm not sure what exactly that will entail, but if it is capable of everything I hope it will be (character specific item menus would be beautiful!), then it might make this idea easier. I'm not sure how far off this feature is though, so it might not be a good idea to wait for it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Not to derail this or anything, but do new people still find the PS library/tutorials there useful? I have to think that the syntax is out of date on all of them, but I imagine first-timers could get a lot out of them still.
I signed off publishing rights to the plotscripting section to CP some months ago, but none of it ever made it onto the main page. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Inferior Minion Metric Ruler

Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 741 Location: Santa Barbara, CA
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moogle1 wrote: | Not to derail this or anything, but do new people still find the PS library/tutorials there useful? I have to think that the syntax is out of date on all of them, but I imagine first-timers could get a lot out of them still.
I signed off publishing rights to the plotscripting section to CP some months ago, but none of it ever made it onto the main page. |
The Articles page was Squall's pet project. However, I haven't seen or heard from Squall in a long while. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shonjuku

Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Idaho, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moogle1 wrote: | Not to derail this or anything, but do new people still find the PS library/tutorials there useful? I have to think that the syntax is out of date on all of them, but I imagine first-timers could get a lot out of them still.
I signed off publishing rights to the plotscripting section to CP some months ago, but none of it ever made it onto the main page. |
Granted this was about 5 years ago at least when I actually went through it... I have made scripts previously, it's just I never went so far as custom battles and menus.
msw188 wrote: | Have you done any programming in the past (ie, do you know what 'if' statements are, and 'for' loops, etc)? |
Yes I took a Visual Basic 1 class about two years ago so I am familiar with coding. _________________ "Never sacrifice the thrills of living for the security of existence" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Would you then like some help to do this? I guess I'm sort of offering, but I'm not exactly an expert plotscripter, and there are times when I don't get the chance to use the internet for multiple days at a time. I'm sure that there are others here who could help you more... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shonjuku

Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Idaho, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well any help would be appreciated... _________________ "Never sacrifice the thrills of living for the security of existence" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, first off you need to decide how much of the current menu you can use. It sounds like everything except for the equip system. If that is so, then you will want to make all of your equipment equippable on nobody, thus essentially disabling the current equipping system.
To make the menu, you will need an 'on keypress script' on every map, and you will need to decide what key causes the equipping menu to be brought up. You'll have to check what scancode it is, and your 'on keypress script' will look something like:
Code: | script, equipping, begin #I just call it 'equipping', call it whatever
if(key is pressed (18)),then #18 is the scancode for 'e', see plotscript dict
begin
#actual serious menu stuff
end |
In the actual serious menu stuff, you will need to decide on some things. I suggest using a separate map for your equipping menu, for then you will have the use of NPCs for things like cursors, and maybe a picture of who you are equipping, etc. On that map, too, you can have a separate 'on keypress script' for capturing the player's input. If you do decide to go this route, your 'actual serious menu stuff' will look like:
Code: | variable(map,x,y)
suspend player
suspend npcs
map:=currentmap
x:=hero x (me)
y:=hero y (me) #storing where the player currently is
teleport to map (map:equipping menu, 0, 0)
#Here I named the map in question 'equipping menu' in custom
#And I set tile 0,0 there as an overhead tile in custom
set tag (tag:equipping, true) #Here I named a tag 'equipping' in custom
while (checktag(tag:equipping)==true),do
begin
wait(1)
end
fade screen out
teleport to map (map,x,y)
fade screen in
resume player
resume npcs
|
Then the meat of the equipping code would go in a separate script that would be an 'on keypress script' used on the map that is the equipping menu. Is this understandable, and/or desirable for what you want to do? If so, let me know and we can begin discussing the equipping script, and the design of the map that will act as the equipping menu. Just for now, I will say that in the equipping script will be the command
Code: | if(key is pressed (1)),then
begin
set tag(tag:equipping, false)
end
|
This is the companion to that while loop above. 1 is the scancode for ESC, so this would check for the player trying to leave the menu. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shonjuku

Joined: 13 Apr 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Idaho, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmmm... everything looks good and the more I think about it, the more i want to do a customized menu... It would give my game a more original look to it... It seems to me that the equipment menu code would fit in like a puzzle piece if we customized the rest of the menu as well and it wouldn't stand out quite so much... _________________ "Never sacrifice the thrills of living for the security of existence" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|