View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Fenrir-Lunaris WUT

Joined: 03 Feb 2003 Posts: 1747
|
Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:16 pm Post subject: Sprite Downloads |
|
|
Allright then, listen up.
Fairly soon I'm going to uploading a LARGE number of sprite downloads of walkabouts, attacks, maps, and the like. The big question isn't what to upload... ...but whether to place them as 4bit color indexed sprite sheets for easy import, or have each image as an individual file.
I suppose what I'm eventually aiming at is a standard format for importing and exporting walkabouts and sprites to and fro the OHRRPGCE. Even if it's a separate program, like the one Ysoft built some time ago. So any ideas? A premade sheet to import files from for a "standardized" layout of sprites? Opinions and comments as always are welcome. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The format you posted there looks nice.
We could look into implementing import/export in that style.
I guess the thing that makes me hesitate from throwing together a sprite-sheet import/export right now is that I worry about how what will happen to that sprite sheet format if/when we ever add additional frames in the future. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Fenrir-Lunaris WUT

Joined: 03 Feb 2003 Posts: 1747
|
Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Perhaps the import sprite feature should be able to preview an entire bmp, then have the user select a space from it to import by showing a 20x20 box for walkabouts, 50 x 50 for enemies, attack, etc? In this way you wouldn't have to worry about how the sheet is set up, as long as you can just grab from a particular indexed sheet. Exporting it on the other hand would be a totally different affair. I liked the way Ysoft's program would place sprites on a sheet, EXCEPT for the lack of a dividing line on the sheets to indicate different animation frames. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
djfenix

Joined: 12 Mar 2003 Posts: 359
|
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, that sounds a lot like importing tiles from backdrops. Doing something like that would make things really, of course with the 4bit limitations included. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Newbie_Power

Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 1762
|
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think a Bugzilla entry asking for the "cut from image" feature said they would rather import sprite sheets because the cut from image was "hacky" (though I think it would actually make more sense for cutting sprites from images than importing tilesets). _________________
TheGiz> Am I the only one who likes to imagine that Elijah Wood's character in Back to the Future 2, the kid at the Wild Gunman machine in the Cafe 80's, is some future descendant of the AVGN? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Although I see the appeal of a sprite cutting tool, I resist the idea because I hate the though of having to import sprites for four different heros from weel defined sprite sheet formats using it.
Instead of doing the import feature four times, I must:
* Import,
* Cut the walk 1 frame
* Cut the walk 2 frame
* Cut the attack 1 frame
* Cut the attack 2 frame
* Cut the casting frame
* Cut the hurt frame
* Cut the weak frame
* Cut the dead frame frame
* Repeat all of the above three more times.
Something that should be one-step becomes nine-step
How about this for a compromise?
We could implement a generic cutter that was smart enough to guess the right default positions for a well-formatted image.
So if the image you import is the right shape to be a full sprite sheet, it will default the cutting position to each frame in turn-- so the above import scenario I described would require you to hit ENTER 8 times, but at least you would not have to use the arrows (or mouse) to pick/align each of eight frames if you didn't want to. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
djfenix

Joined: 12 Mar 2003 Posts: 359
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
I see your point.
Most other sprite sheets would typically just have all the images lined up without division. So for a hero sprite sheet, one would just make a 256x40 pixel image, and have width 1-32 be standing, 33-64 be walking, 65-96 be attack A, etc, and so forth.
Something as such, imo, would be pretty easy to work with |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ysoft_Entertainment VB Programmer

Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 810 Location: Wherever There is a good game.
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Why not do it like I did with ohrgfx.
example,
if the image is 160x20 then it would go to walkabout
if its 50x50 it would go to medium sized enemy.
etc.
If it doesn't have any of the sizes, then launch a cutter.
This method seems better because even if we add more sprites, then we only have to change few lines of code. _________________ Try my OHR exporter/importer.
OHRGFX
Striving to become better pixel artist then Fenrir Lunaris. Unfortunately the laziness gets in the way of my goals. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sprite sizes aren't guaranteed to stay what they currently are. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jabbercat Composer

Joined: 04 Sep 2003 Posts: 823 Location: Oxford
|
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Then update the code when you need to. It wouldn't be hard. _________________ Moogle no longer owes prizes. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Moogle1 Scourge of the Seas Halloween 2006 Creativity Winner


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Posts: 3377 Location: Seattle, WA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
If your walkabouts are the same size as your hero sprites, you have a problem. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Moogle1 wrote: | If your walkabouts are the same size as your hero sprites, you have a problem. |
It would not attempt to guess which type of thing you are importing. If you imported from the walkabout sprite editor, it would interpret the file as a walkabout sprite sheet. if you imported from the hero sprite editor it would interpret the file as a hero spritesheet. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ysoft_Entertainment VB Programmer

Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 810 Location: Wherever There is a good game.
|
Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
James Paige wrote: | Moogle1 wrote: | If your walkabouts are the same size as your hero sprites, you have a problem. |
It would not attempt to guess which type of thing you are importing. If you imported from the walkabout sprite editor, it would interpret the file as a walkabout sprite sheet. if you imported from the hero sprite editor it would interpret the file as a hero spritesheet. |
I think this shouldn't be too hard to implement. All we have to do is copy the code that already imports single frame, and modify it to import the sheet. _________________ Try my OHR exporter/importer.
OHRGFX
Striving to become better pixel artist then Fenrir Lunaris. Unfortunately the laziness gets in the way of my goals. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|