View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Smeargle
Joined: 09 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:51 am Post subject: Fake mp |
|
|
I'm not entirely sure this is the right forum but here it goes. I want to make
sort of a fake mp where when you do attacks it goes down and the attacks will fail if the stat equals zero. I know that sounds exactly like mp but I want to use this stat in addition to mp. So far what I have tried doing is having an attack that reduces the ctr stat and then chains to the attack I want but I can't figure out how to make it fail. Is there a way to make an attack chain only if a stat is a certain level? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rya.Reisender Snippy

Joined: 18 Jan 2008 Posts: 821
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think it's possible. There's no battle scripting yet so you can't really set conditions...
You could make an attack that only works once, though by raising the enemy's stats after the attack.. _________________ Snippy:
"curt or sharp, esp. in a condescending way" (Oxford American Dictionary)
"fault-finding, snappish, sharp" (Concise Oxford Dictionary, UK)
1. short-tempered, snappish, 2. unduly brief or curt (Merriam-Webster Dictionary) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Inspiration Anti-Protagonist

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 74 Location: Kool-Aid
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
You could try using the new ammunition system.
In which you can give an attack an item cost.
When you're out of an item, you don't get to use the attack. _________________ Look back and you've already lost.
Look forward and embrace the trials of tomorrow. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Smeargle
Joined: 09 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
The reason I want to use a stat is because I want it to be restored to default
after the battle. I guess I could do that with an after battle script. Would there be a way to display how many of those items you have left on the stat screen? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Inspiration Anti-Protagonist

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 74 Location: Kool-Aid
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Smeargle wrote: | The reason I want to use a stat is because I want it to be restored to default
after the battle. I guess I could do that with an after battle script. Would there be a way to display how many of those items you have left on the stat screen? |
With the default stat screen? No.
However, with the ability to edit Menus, you can create your own status menu with the use of strings and such.
If you were to use this method, then yes, you could display it as a stat.
There's an ongoing thread about this here. _________________ Look back and you've already lost.
Look forward and embrace the trials of tomorrow. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Smeargle
Joined: 09 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Now that I think about it, what I could do is have the after battle plotscript set the number of the items you have equal to the ctr stat, is there a way to not let them see how many you have in the item menu? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Inspiration Anti-Protagonist

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 74 Location: Kool-Aid
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Smeargle wrote: | Now that I think about it, what I could do is have the after battle plotscript set the number of the items you have equal to the ctr stat, is there a way to not let them see how many you have in the item menu? |
I'd just recommend not giving the item a name. _________________ Look back and you've already lost.
Look forward and embrace the trials of tomorrow. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Smeargle
Joined: 09 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
But they can still see the x7 and they could still throw it away, is there a way to "lock" the item? I would also need one of these for each hero wouldn't I? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Newbie_Power

Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 1762
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | But they can still see the x7 and they could still throw it away, is there a way to "lock" the item? | Change this setting like so:
 _________________
TheGiz> Am I the only one who likes to imagine that Elijah Wood's character in Back to the Future 2, the kid at the Wild Gunman machine in the Cafe 80's, is some future descendant of the AVGN? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Smeargle
Joined: 09 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, I think this should work. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This will seem very strange to a player to see a mysterious "x7" in their item menu. I would suggest a pre-battle script that gives the hero the correct number of items before a battle, and having the after battle script erase them from the inventory.
This will all break down, however, if you allow the player more than one hero who can use the attack. You are in much worse territory at that point. There could be some trickery to get the effect that you want, but it will not be pretty at all, and will probably have some flaws of its own. If each character has their own unique attacks for their counter stat, however, this could work.
EDIT PS: I'm glad that the custom stat menu thread with Glim may be useful to others as well. _________________ My first completed OHR game, Tales of the New World:
http://castleparadox.com/gamelist-display.php?game=161
This website link is for my funk/rock band, Euphonic Brew:
www.euphonicbrew.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Smeargle
Joined: 09 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yes but there is no pre-battle script, I will probably just end up calling something like "system" not very pretty but oh well,
the point of this is I want to be able to have each class have specific skills that they can use in battle separate from mp, it will only go up to like ten and it gets healed after every battle, unfortunately I am not sure what will happen when they have two of the same class. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Newbie_Power

Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 1762
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | yes but there is no pre-battle script | There's an option called "instead-of battle" script which is basically what msw is suggesting. I don't believe it actually cancels the battle unless you want it to. _________________
TheGiz> Am I the only one who likes to imagine that Elijah Wood's character in Back to the Future 2, the kid at the Wild Gunman machine in the Cafe 80's, is some future descendant of the AVGN? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie_Power wrote: | Quote: | yes but there is no pre-battle script | There's an option called "instead-of battle" script which is basically what msw is suggesting. I don't believe it actually cancels the battle unless you want it to. |
The instead of battle script automatically gets the formation number as the first argument. You then trigger the battle yourself with the "fight formation" command.
Code: |
plotscript, random encounter, formnum, begin
# stuff that should happen before every battle
fight formation (formnum)
# stuff that should happen after every battle
end
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msw188
Joined: 02 Jul 2003 Posts: 1041
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I should have been moe clear. The "instead of battle" script is what you need to be using, in James' format.
If you would like the player to have more than one of the same hero, you could make multiple copies of the same hero I suppose. But you will need a separate item to be the 'alternate MP' for each possible hero. And your script will look somewhat messy. But now that I've thought about it a bit, I'm sure that this is quite doable (as long as the player doesn't have access to 50 or so of each hero throughout the game). If you would like assistance with the script, just ask. Basically, it will need to check the hero IDs currently in the party and then give the correct amount of the corresponding item. Then after battle it will have to get rid of all of the possible items representing the 'alternate MPs'. _________________ My first completed OHR game, Tales of the New World:
http://castleparadox.com/gamelist-display.php?game=161
This website link is for my funk/rock band, Euphonic Brew:
www.euphonicbrew.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|