 |
Castle Paradox
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
chronoboy Into the past with a splash

Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 162 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:21 pm Post subject: Are globals limited to 1024 in the stable release? |
|
|
For some reason when using string to globals with globals higher than 1024, it either does not write, or globals to strings does not read it.
It could also be that 4096 limit is only in the nightly? Could someone please clarify this for me and if I need to fill a global variable bug on this?
EDIT: Also confirmed to be an issue in the nightly build as well. I guess I'll use export globals and store this extra data in a separate save slot.
WORKAROUND: Three very simple scripts to export up to 7 strings stored in globals with the size of 38 to a separate save slot, depending on your save slot chosen.
Code: |
script, memcopy,p1,p2,p3, begin
variable (i,i2)
i2:=0
for (i,p1,p2,1) do (write global(i2+p3,read global(i)),i2:=i2+1)
end
script, store note,note, begin
variable (tmp,offset)
offset:=280*save slot
offset:=offset+2048
tmp:=note*40
tmp:=tmp+offset
memcopy (my notes+10,my notes+48,tmp)
export globals (5,tmp,tmp+38)
end
script, receive note,note, begin
variable (tmp,offset)
offset:=280*save slot
offset:=offset+2048
tmp:=note*40
tmp:=tmp+offset
import globals (5,tmp,tmp+38)
memcopy (tmp,tmp+38,my notes+10)
end
|
Two globals will need to exist for this to work: my notes and save slot.
my notes contains the temp location in the current global variables scope, which will be exported.
save slot stores your current save slot number, get this by any means you can.
I choose to use memcopy, as I wanted the strings to be stored in high global variables, of which string to globals currently does not allow. Feel free to use memcopy for anything, if you need it.
Also to note for the devs, this script doesn't slow down the engine(much), when it draws a textbox using strings imported from a separate save slot, it draws one line of text at a time, about 0.5 seconds apart. My previous code with only a 5 line textbox read from local global strings worked faster.
Feature request: Could you add a memcopy command to plotscript, it would allow copying globals to and from save slots in different locations. Say I want to load globals 0-1023 into local global scope of 1024-2047, currently only a wrapper script like this would work. _________________ Current project: Chronoboy Adventures
Website: http://www.chronoboy.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, fixed.
Quote: | it draws one line of text at a time, about 0.5 seconds apart. |
Wow, slow
Quote: | Feature request: Could you add a memcopy command to plotscript, it would allow copying globals to and from save slots in different locations. Say I want to load globals 0-1023 into local global scope of 1024-2047, currently only a wrapper script like this would work. |
There will eventually be a special "globals" array. Then you'll be able to use array slicing to do things like this. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chronoboy Into the past with a splash

Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 162 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The Mad Cacti wrote: | Thanks, fixed. |
So it was a bug? And it's fixed up ready for the next nightly? _________________ Current project: Chronoboy Adventures
Website: http://www.chronoboy.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
It is now. I hadn't pushed my local changes to the SVN repository yet. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chronoboy Into the past with a splash

Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 162 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
I guess this Heart of OHR contest is really keeping you devs busy with new bug fixes almost every day -- especially from me.  _________________ Current project: Chronoboy Adventures
Website: http://www.chronoboy.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Actually only a single person request a bug fix for the contest, and it hasn't been fixed yet!
You're currently reporting more bugs than everyone else put together. That's much appreciated; we don't get enough testing (or enough reporting). _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|