View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Blacklight_Studios Expert of the third person...
Joined: 15 Dec 2010 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:23 am Post subject: level caps possible...? |
|
|
another step in my takeover of the help forum.
I was wondering if there's a possibility of a level cap for the engine, in that I could force a level to be the level cap until a specific event occurs, unlocking the rest of the levels. The Idea is to have a tutorial level in my game that holds the level cap, then when you get to the main plot and out of the tutorial map, the cap is lifted, reverting to the original level 99 cap.
I may be thinking too advanced for the current limitations for the engine. If so, let me know. _________________ Current project progress:
Lost in the Dark(Primary Project): 1%
Kingdom Hearts Collaborative Project: 0.05%
-- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mswguest Guest
|
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can accomplish this by having all enemies in that area give 0 EXP, and making new copies of them with rewards once the player completes the 'tutorial'.
But the general answer to your question is no, there is no simple way to enforce a level cap for heroes. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Camdog
Joined: 08 Aug 2003 Posts: 606
|
Posted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
You could accomplish this through plotscripting as well. If you set a script as an instead of battle script, it will be passed the formation number (and the formation set number, though you don't need that), so you could add experience in the plotscript as opposed in the enemy data.
Here's an example in hamsterspeak-like pseudo-code:
Code: |
script, add capped experience, exp, begin
var(i)
for(i = 0, i < 3, i++) do(
if (total experience(i) < level cap or level not capped) give experience(i, exp)
)
end
script, instead of battle script, form, set, begin
if (fight formation(form)) then(
if (form == 1) then (add capped experience(100))
if (form == 2) then (add capped experience(450))
#etc...
)
end |
(The syntax is almost certainly wrong; I haven't written hamsterspeak in a while. You get the general idea, though)
There are a couple of limitations to this, of course. You have to set all the enemy exp rewards to 0 and then write out the worth of each formation in your script by hand, and players won't see the exp they've gained or level ups in battle. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bob the Hamster OHRRPGCE Developer

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 2526 Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)
|
Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 12:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
TMC added support for a level cap in the latest nightly builds. You can find it under the stat caps menu in the general game data menu. There are also plotscripting commands to get and set it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Blacklight_Studios Expert of the third person...
Joined: 15 Dec 2010 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Could you post a sample script, James? I'm not sure how that would go about doing it, but I'm guessing you would use the "stat cap" command set? _________________ Current project progress:
Lost in the Dark(Primary Project): 1%
Kingdom Hearts Collaborative Project: 0.05%
-- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TMC On the Verge of Insanity
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 3240 Location: Matakana
|
Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
'getlevelcap' and 'setlevelcap'
Example:
Code: | plotscript, set level cap to 10, begin
set level cap (10)
end |
Camdog's approach is not too bad. You can improve it by computing the total experience gain from each battle with a script then temporarily setting the enemies to give 0 experience, instead of working it all out manually. _________________ "It is so great it is insanely great." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|