Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

Movement issues.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Master K
Ex-Akatsuki Masked Ninja




Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere. Muahaha!

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:33 pm    Post subject: Movement issues. Reply with quote

First part of my problem:

1. My mother movement thread, which is still unfinished. I still need help there...

2. Is there a way to have an NPC walk to a certain spot automatically in a script? Say, a wandering character moving to a certain spot, ignoring obstructions (Like the player?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Movement issues. Reply with quote

Master K wrote:
First part of my problem:

1. My mother movement thread, which is still unfinished. I still need help there...

2. Is there a way to have an NPC walk to a certain spot automatically in a script? Say, a wandering character moving to a certain spot, ignoring obstructions (Like the player?)


you can make an NPC ignore obstructions like other NPCs and the hero with the command:

Code:
suspend obstruction


You can make NPCs ignore walls with:

Code:
suspend NPC walls


Then you can make the NPC walk to the destination using something like:

Code:
walk NPC to X(0, 12)
wait for NPC(0)
walk NPC to Y(0, 27)
wait for NPC(0)


Does that answer your question? or did you have something else in mind?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old habits die hard. If there are multiple NPCs on the map (and the others continue to move), it's better to instead do
Code:

 set npc ignores walls (0, true)
 set npc obstructs (0, false)

_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Mad Cacti wrote:
Old habits die hard. If there are multiple NPCs on the map (and the others continue to move), it's better to instead do
Code:

 set npc ignores walls (0, true)
 set npc obstructs (0, false)


I keep forgetting we have those features. Yes! Those commands are definitely better, since they only affect that one specific NPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mswguest
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think I ever knew these commands existed, although they must have been in What's New at some point. I'm starting to like the plotdict's organization a little less. To me, these commands belong with moving NPCs or with suspending/resuming, not with "advanced commands". In fact, that section should probably be split up; what makes a command "advanced"? Here's my quick attempt:

All the hero picture/palette stuff could go in a new category called Hero Properties

All the NPC stuff could go in a new category called NPC Properties

All the 'special script' stuff could go in a new category called Altering Special Plotscripts

All the harm tile, foot offset, NPC over hero, and map edge stuff could go in Tweaking Maps

The find hero, hero by slot, etc stuff could go in a new category called Hero Referencing

The hero stats, levels, EXP and stuff could go in the new Hero Properties category

Read and write global could go in Working With Variables

The general game data stuff could have its own category, perhaps merged with the special plotscripts category, since they're together in custom

Allow minimap and save everywhere could probably go in Tweaking Maps, or maybe Miscellaneous

The saving stuff could have a new category Saving Games

Import and export globals in Working With Variables

Run script by ID, I'm not sure, but I'm guessing Flow Control...?

Cap stuff could go under the new General Game Data category

Not sure where to put the trace stuff, I guess Miscellaneous

The map state stuff can go in Tweaking Maps, and it seems to do a good job explaining how advanced it is; tile animation stuff too

Milliseconds seems like it ought to be in Miscellaneous with days of play, etc.


PS: sorry to hijack this thread, but it seems like the problem should be solved, yes?
Back to top
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like your suggestions, although what if we just completely abandoned the categories, and just put everything in a big alphabetical list. That would encourage people to search for keywords (which is the only way I ever find any command)

Although if you are volunteering to organize the plotdict.xml file, I am going to basically agree with any scheme of order you come up with, no questions asked :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mswguest
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I think it's nice to have the commands grouped like they are, because there is ALSO the alphabetical list.

I guess if I'm the one making a fuss, I ought to do it, huh? I really don't know how. I'm guessing I could just copy and paste the stuff that's there to move it, but making a new category, and putting the link to it at the beginning, I'd have no clue on. If I fiddle with it and get it working right (I imagine it can't be THAT hard), under the scheme I just proposed, could I email you the new xml file? Would I have to do the html file too?
Back to top
mswguest
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, there's another problem. When I open the xml document, I just get a huge white screen with all the text with no organization at all (using internet explorer). The HTML version is the only version I use, and it seems to work fine. I don't THINK I've ever noticed this before, because I always just used the HTML one.
Back to top
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The xml version has to be edited in a text editor If you open it with Notepad+ or something like, it should be cleaner to look at. Each command should be in a neatly indented block for easy copy-and-paste.

The html version is generated from the xml version. There is no way to generate the xml from the html

I didn't mean to guilt you into doing this-- if you aren't in the mood for it, don't worry about it :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Paige wrote:
Although if you are volunteering to organize the plotdict.xml file, I am going to basically agree with any scheme of order you come up with, no questions asked :)


Exactly my attitude too :)

What if we add category tags to each command instead of grouping into single categories? Then for each category we could have a list of links into the alphabetically sorted command list. Or alternatively: sort by "main" category, mostly leaving things in the current order? (That would map better to/from the wiki too.) Only problem is, I have no idea how to do this, or whether it is even possible; Mike created the XML file and XSL stylesheets.

But even if we did that, fixing the "main" categories would be the first step.

Quote:
When I open the xml document, I just get a huge white screen with all the text with no organization at all (using internet explorer).


Is that when you look at the nightly-uploaded plotdict, or a plotdict.xml file you have laying around (from where? Make sure you edit the nightly XML, not Zenzizenic's)? If the later, you need the htmlplot.xsl file in the same folder for it to display properly.
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP! All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group